About Us

The Platte Woods UMC Family

Our Pastors

Steve Breon

Steve was appointed to serve as senior pastor of Platte Woods United Methodist Church in 2005. Steve is married to Cindy and they have two grown children.

Before coming to Platte Woods UMC Steve served churches across the state of Missouri. He was founding pastor of St. Peter UMC in Blue Springs. He also served in Raymore and Joplin before spending two years in supervisory ministry in Southeast Missouri.

Steve graduated from Baker University, St. Paul School of Theology and has the Doctor of Ministry degree from Fuller Theological Seminary. “Serving the local church is the greatest call a person can have. It is a joy to serve PWUMC.”

Nancy Liston

For as long as I can remember, I wanted to be in a profession to listen, reflect, and encourage.  I refined my goal when I discovered people struggle with the meaning of life and long for a sense of belonging.  I felt called to a helping profession where I could speak openly about God’s love and grace.

To achieve this goal, I attended Southwestern College, Winfield, KS as a religion major; Phillips Theological School, Enid, OK for a Master of Divinity degree; and the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago to earn a Doctorate degree.   I am also a Stephen Ministries trainer, Care Ministries trainer, and have completed my certificate as a grief specialist.

One of my mantras is “Everyone has a story.”  I love being a pastor because it gives me the opportunity to openly share the stories of Jesus and guide people towards connecting to the story of their life. For 34 years I have served as pastor, associate pastor, college chaplain, hospice chaplain, and Southwestern College adjunct faculty.  In every situation, I heard stories; some with a great deal of pain, some told only with tears, some shared through writing.

Platte Woods UMC is a congregation striving to follow Jesus.  One way we follow Jesus is by sharing compassion and listening to stories of pain, disappointment, and loss.  Another way is by visiting people in the hospital or in their homes.  Training for this caring ministry is provided.

The latest chapters of my story include marrying Buddy Liston December 11, 2011, moving from Kansas to Liberty, and becoming a grandmother.  I also love to sew and play the violin and piano.

I am excited to be an associate pastor at Platte Woods UMC, focusing on congregational care.

 

Jake Schneider

Jake was appointed to Platte Woods UMC as an associate pastor in 2014. Before arriving at PWUMC, he served as pastor for two congregations in Fayette, Mo., for two years. Jake is passionate about proclaiming the Gospel of Jesus Christ, through word and action, and about helping others to grow in their knowledge and love of God. Jake is the primary pastor for the modern worship service, and is also responsible for Intentional Faith ministries at Platte Woods. Jake and his new wife, Keera, love the outdoors, taking walks, cooking, and watching their favorite shows together.

Our Staff

Need to contact a member of our staff? Please use the e-mail links below, or call 816-741-2972.

Name Title Email
Sue Arensberg Director of Sunbeams Preschool & PDO sarensberg
Becky Bacon Custodian Coordinator bbacon
Anne Bartholow Director of Senior Adult Ministry annebartholow
Lori Bogart Director of Administration and HR lbogart
Cindy Breon Communications Assistant, Director of Women’s Ministry cbreon
Steve Breon Senior Pastor sbreon
Walter Bryant Music Director walter@walterbryantmusic.com
Jennifer Bruce Children’s Ministry Associate jbruce
Jennifer Carrizzo Parents’ Day Out jcarrizzo
Mike Casey Maintenance Coordinator mcasey
Britton Fields Director of Student Ministry bfields
Alex Garnett Technical Coordinator agarnett
Adam Houston Kitchen Manager ahouston
Vicki Krehbiel Director of Counseling vkrehbiel
Nancy Liston Associate Pastor nliston
Mandy Phillips Receptionist/Scheduling Coordinator mphillips
Janice Ramsey Children’s Ministry Assistant jmramsey
Jessica Richard Director of Children’s Ministry jrichard
Jake Schneider Associate Pastor jschneider
Jennifer Simms Director of Communications & Missions jsimms
Brandi Stumbaugh Student Ministry Assistant bstumbaugh
Mat Thornton Modern Worship Leader mthornton
Colleen Van Nostran Hospitality Coordinator cvannostran
Misty Wilkinson Financial Manager mwilkinson
Rachel Zolnowski Administrative Associate rzolnowski

Scheduling

Reserving a Room for Your Event

Scheduling Your Wedding

You are encouraged to schedule your wedding at Platte Woods United Methodist Church as far in advance of the ceremony as possible. To schedule your wedding, contact Mandy Phillips (816-741-2972, ext. 210). Please note that tentative wedding dates may be checked by telephone, however, actual arrangements must be completed and finalized in person. Upon receiving a $100.00 non-refundable deposit, Mandy will reserve and schedule your wedding date on the church calendar. The check should be made out to PWUMC. You will be assigned a wedding coordinator who will help you with all necessary arrangements regarding charges and protocol for the rehearsal, ceremony and/or reception. Any changes and/or questions regarding your wedding plans should then be discussed with your assigned wedding coordinator. Your wedding coordinator will assist the pastor and your wedding party at the rehearsal and on your wedding day.

Inclement Weather Procedures

In the event of inclement weather, church closings will be made on a case-by-case basis. Changes in the church schedule, whether on weekends or during the week, can be found on the front page of the church Web site, by tuning in to KMBC-9 TV, or on the church’s answering machine (741-2972). Every effort will be made to send e-mails notifying those on the E-News subscription list as well. Please note that only under the most extreme weather conditions will worship services be cancelled. Sunbeams Preschool and Parents’ Day Out follow the Park Hill School District’s lead: when the PHSD cancels classes or dismisses early due to bad weather, Sunbeams and PDO will as well.

Church Leadership

PWUMC Lay Leadership

As approved at the January 2018 Church Conference, following is the lay leadership for PWUMC.

Lay Members to Annual Conference

Lori Bogart, Chris Evans and Marc Evans

Committee on Nominations and Leadership Development

Pastor/Chair: Steve Breon
Class serving through May 2019: Erin Cox, Dan Koch
Class serving through May 2020: Chuck Coughlin, Missy Nelson
Class serving through May 2021: Julie Moise, Aaron Schmidt

Leadership Council

Class serving through May 2018: (extended through December 2018): Shari Albright, Michael Hundt, Julie Rule
Class serving through May 2019: Jamie Grayson, Andrea Hunter, Kirby McDaniel
Class serving through May 2020: Marc Evans, Al Minnis, Melissa Spencer
Class serving through May 2021: Erin Cox, Christie Dade, Clark Mershon
Lay Leader serving through 2018: John Miller

Leadership Council Minutes:

Leading People to Follow Jesus.

WEEKLY WORSHIP Saturdays at 5 pm Sundays at 8, 9:15 and 10:45 am

7310 NW Prairie View Road Platte Woods, MO 64151 816.741.2972 info@plattewoodschurch.org © 2017 All Rights Reserved.