About Us

The Platte Woods UMC Family

Our Pastors

Steve Breon

Steve was appointed to serve as senior pastor of Platte Woods United Methodist Church in 2005. Steve is married to Cindy and they have two grown children.

Before coming to Platte Woods UMC Steve served churches across the state of Missouri. He was founding pastor of St. Peter UMC in Blue Springs. He also served in Raymore and Joplin before spending two years in supervisory ministry in Southeast Missouri.

Steve graduated from Baker University, St. Paul School of Theology and has the Doctor of Ministry degree from Fuller Theological Seminary. “Serving the local church is the greatest call a person can have. It is a joy to serve PWUMC.”

Nancy Liston

Nancy’s journey in ministry formally began in 1975 when she attended Southwestern College, Winfield, KS as a religion major. Her next step took her to Phillips Theological School, Enid Oklahoma, which led to years of experience serving as a pastor in Kansas. She headed northeast in 2007 to work on her doctorate at the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago. During that time, she was also a hospice chaplain. She returned to Kansas to finish her doctorate, and eventually landed in Missouri which she is happy to call home.

Nancy and Buddy have been married over five years and live in Liberty. Nancy enjoys sewing, playing the piano, reading, and playing with her two toddler granddaughters. She is excited to focus on congregational care at Platte Woods UMC.

Jake Schneider

Jake was appointed to Platte Woods UMC as an associate pastor in 2014. Before arriving at PWUMC, he served as pastor for two congregations in Fayette, Mo., for two years. Jake is passionate about proclaiming the Gospel of Jesus Christ, through word and action, and about helping others to grow in their knowledge and love of God. Jake is the primary pastor for the modern worship service, and is also responsible for Intentional Faith ministries at Platte Woods. Jake and his new wife, Keera, love the outdoors, taking walks, cooking, and watching their favorite shows together.

Our Staff

Need to contact a member of our staff? Please use the e-mail links below, or call 816-741-2972.

Name Title Email
Sue Arensberg Director of Sunbeams Preschool & PDO sarensberg
Becky Bacon Custodian bbacon
Anne Bartholow Director of Senior Adult Ministry annebartholow
Lori Bogart Director of Administration and HR lbogart
Cindy Breon Communications Assistant, Director of Women’s Ministry cbreon
Steve Breon Senior Pastor sbreon
Walter Bryant Music Director walter@walterbryantmusic.com
Jennifer Bruce Children’s Ministry Associate jbruce
Jennifer Carrizzo Parents’ Day Out jcarrizzo
Mike Casey Custodian mcasey
Britton Fields Director of Student Ministry bfields
Alex Garnett Technical Coordinator agarnett
Adam Houston IT Support/Kitchen Manager ahouston
Vicki Krehbiel Director of Counseling vkrehbiel
Nancy Liston Associate Pastor nliston
Mandy Phillips Receptionist/Scheduling Coordinator mphillips
Janice Ramsey Children’s Ministry Assistant jmramsey
Jessica Richard Director of Children’s Ministry jrichard
Jake Schneider Associate Pastor jschneider
Jennifer Simms Director of Communications & Missions jsimms
Brandi Stumbaugh Student Ministry Assistant bstumbaugh
Mat Thornton NEXT Worship Leader mthornton
Colleen Van Nostran Hospitality Coordinator cvannostran
Misty Wilkinson Financial Manager mwilkinson
Rachel Zolnowski Administrative Associate rzolnowski

Scheduling

Reserving a Room for Your Event

Scheduling Your Wedding

You are encouraged to schedule your wedding at Platte Woods United Methodist Church as far in advance of the ceremony as possible. To schedule your wedding, contact Mandy Phillips (816-741-2972, ext. 210). Please note that tentative wedding dates may be checked by telephone, however, actual arrangements must be completed and finalized in person. Upon receiving a $100.00 non-refundable deposit, Mandy will reserve and schedule your wedding date on the church calendar. The check should be made out to PWUMC. You will be assigned a wedding coordinator who will help you with all necessary arrangements regarding charges and protocol for the rehearsal, ceremony and/or reception. Any changes and/or questions regarding your wedding plans should then be discussed with your assigned wedding coordinator. Your wedding coordinator will assist the pastor and your wedding party at the rehearsal and on your wedding day.

Inclement Weather Procedures

In the events of inclement weather, church closings will be made on a case-by-case basis. Changes in the church schedule, whether on weekends or during the week, can be found on the front page of the church Web site, by tuning in to KMBC-9 TV, or on the church’s answering machine (741-2972). Every effort will be made to send e-mails notifying those on the E-News subscription list as well. Please note that only under the most extreme weather conditions will worship services be cancelled. Sunbeams Preschool and Parents’ Day Out follow the Park Hill School District’s lead: when the PHSD cancels classes or dismisses early due to bad weather, Sunbeams and PDO will as well.

Church Leadership

PWUMC Lay Leadership

As approved at the January 2017 Church Conference, following is the lay leadership for PWUMC.

Lay Members to Annual Conference

Lori Bogart, Britton Fields (alt), Abby Morris, Jennifer Simms, Mat Thornton (alt)

Committee on Nominations and Leadership Development

Pastor/Chair: Steve Breon
Class serving through May 2018: Marc Evans
Class serving through May 2019: Erin Cox, Dan Koch
Class serving through May 2020: Chuck Coughlin, Missy Nelson

Leadership Council

Class serving through May 2018: Shari Albright, Michael Hundt, Julie Rule
Class serving through May 2019: Jamie Grayson, Andrea Hunter, Kirby McDaniel
Class serving through May 2020: Marc Evans, Al Minnis, Melissa Spencer
Lay Leader serving through May 2017: John Miller

Building Committee

Carol Adams, Jerry Buttron, Don Denney, Carl Hughes, Kim Jensen, Mike McDaniel, Stan Shipman, Michael Short (chair)

Leadership Council Minutes:

 

Leading People to Follow Jesus.

WEEKLY WORSHIP Saturdays at 5 pm Sundays at 8, 9:15 and 10:45 am

7310 NW Prairie View Road Platte Woods, MO 64151 816.741.2972 info@plattewoodschurch.org © 2017 All Rights Reserved.