About Us

The Platte Woods UMC Family

Our Staff

Need to contact a member of our staff? Please use the e-mail links below, or call 816-741-2972.

Name Title Email
Sue Arensberg Director of Sunbeams Preschool & PDO sarensberg
Becky Bacon Custodian bbacon
Anne Bartholow Director of Senior Adult Ministry annebartholow
Lori Bogart Director of Administration and HR lbogart
Cindy Breon Communications Assistant, Director of Women’s Ministry cbreon
Steve Breon Senior Pastor sbreon
Walter Bryant Music Director walter@walterbryantmusic.com
Jennifer Bruce Director of Children’s Ministry jbruce
Jennifer Carrizzo Parents’ Day Out jcarrizzo
Mike Casey Maintenance Coordinator mcasey
Gena Christofferson Front Desk Receptionist frontdesk
Harmony Eccles Connections Coordinator & Worship Design heccles
Britton Fields Associate Pastor, Director of Student Ministry bfields
Alex Garnett Technical Coordinator agarnett
Stephanie Heinerikson Front Desk Receptionist frontdesk
Vicki Krehbiel Director of Counseling vkrehbiel
Nancy Liston Associate Pastor, Care Ministry nliston
Brandi Molina Director of Missions bmolina
Mandy Phillips Children’s Ministry Associate/Scheduling Coordinator mphillips
Janice Ramsey Administrative Associate jmramsey
Jessica Richard Associate Pastor, Intentional Faith Development jrichard
Jake Schneider Associate Pastor jschneider
Jennifer Simms Director of Communications jsimms
Mat Thornton Modern Worship Leader mthornton
Misty Wilkinson Financial Manager mwilkinson
Rachel Zolnowski Administrative Associate rzolnowski

Scheduling

Reserving a Room for Your Event

Scheduling Your Wedding

You are encouraged to schedule your wedding at Platte Woods United Methodist Church as far in advance of the ceremony as possible. To schedule your wedding, contact Mandy Phillips (816-741-2972, ext. 210). Please note that tentative wedding dates may be checked by telephone, however, actual arrangements must be completed and finalized in person. Upon receiving a $100.00 non-refundable deposit, Mandy will reserve and schedule your wedding date on the church calendar. The check should be made out to PWUMC. You will be assigned a wedding coordinator who will help you with all necessary arrangements regarding charges and protocol for the rehearsal, ceremony and/or reception. Any changes and/or questions regarding your wedding plans should then be discussed with your assigned wedding coordinator. Your wedding coordinator will assist the pastor and your wedding party at the rehearsal and on your wedding day.

Inclement Weather Procedures

In the event of inclement weather, church closings will be made on a case-by-case basis. Changes in the church schedule, whether on weekends or during the week, can be found on the front page of the church Web site, by tuning in to KMBC-9 TV, or on the church’s answering machine (741-2972). Every effort will be made to send e-mails notifying those on the E-News subscription list as well. Please note that only under the most extreme weather conditions will worship services be cancelled. Sunbeams Preschool and Parents’ Day Out follow the Park Hill School District’s lead: when the PHSD cancels classes or dismisses early due to bad weather, Sunbeams and PDO will as well.

Church Leadership

PWUMC Lay Leadership

Statement Regarding the UMC General Conference

With the recent outcomes and uncertainties generated upon the conclusion of the General Conference held in St. Louis with regard to human sexuality, PWUMC Leadership issues the following statement:

The Leadership of PWUMC believes that our local church’s mission remains unchanged and straightforward. Platte Woods UMC believes our mission is to love one another as Christ loves us. We welcome and embrace all people seeking to establish and grow their relationship with our Risen Lord and Savior. Our church’s foundation is built on this premise and we pray that we will continue to find ways to help all who come to connect with Christ and our congregation. Decisions made about PWUMC’s future surrounding this issue will be a congregational decision.

In the coming months, the church will facilitate small group conversations to encourage listening to each other and have dialogue around this topic. If you have any questions, please contact Marc Evans, Leadership Council chair, or contact the church office at 816-741-2972 to speak with a pastor or staff member.

Lay Members to Annual Conference

Lori Bogart, Chris Evans, Marc Evans, Mat Thornton

Committee on Nominations and Leadership Development

Pastor/Chair: Steve Breon
Class serving through May 2019: Erin Cox, Dan Koch
Class serving through May 2020: Chuck Coughlin, Missy Nelson
Class serving through May 2021: Julie Moise, Aaron Schmidt

Leadership Council

Class serving through May 2019: Jamie Grayson, Andrea Hunter, Kirby McDaniel
Class serving through May 2020: Marc Evans, Al Minnis, Kirby McDaniel
Class serving through May 2021: Erin Cox, Christie Dade, Warren Dudley
Class serving through May 2022: Michael Hundt, Jamie Grayson & Amy Schemenauer

 

Leadership Council Minutes:

Leading People to Follow Jesus.

PWUMC Logo

WEEKLY WORSHIP Saturdays at 5 pm Sundays at 8:15, 9:15 and 10:45 am